Wednesday, February 24, 2010

2009-10 Annual Player Awards

The Prince George Spruce Kings recognized their achievements on the ice with the presentation of the annual player awards. In front of over 150 fans, volunteers and other members of the hockey club a total of eleven trophies were presented on Monday.

The awards presentation started with a thank you to the billet host families and the volunteers and that led into the first award of the night to the Volunteer of the Year, Edna Stitt. With over fifteen years of volunteer work with the Spruce Kings as an off-ice official, Stitt has given tirelessly to the Spruce Kings.

The second trophy was the Craig Dziuballe memorial for Outstanding Community Service presented to RJay Berra, who also heard his name called out for the Scholastic Player of the Year and the Seventh Man. The awards recognized Berra’s commitment to the team and himself to excel both on the ice and in the classroom.

The other multiple award winner was Sam Muchalla who picked up this year’s scoring title, Most Dedicated Player and MVP. In his third season, Muchalla finished fifth in the BCHL scoring race with 29 goals and 58 assists. With a three season career total of 161 games, 64 goals and 117 assists, Muchalla has his name in the Spruce Kings record book for games played, goals, assists and points.

Another player that played himself into the top ten categories for defenceman was Justin Fillion who won the Defenceman of the Year award. Nick DeSousa shot out the lights in the second half of the season to score almost four times as many goals from his rookie season and was recognized with the Most Improved Player of the Year award.

Lyndon Martell won Rookie of the Year; the youngest player on the roster joined the Spruce Kings at the quarter mark of the season and finished with 44 games played, 13 goals and 18 assists. The Most Inspiration Player award was handed out to Zac Rasmussen; sometimes seen as an agitator on the ice, “Raz” backed up his character with big points in his final year scoring 25 times including 5 game winners.

The night ended with the recognition of four graduating players including the three twenty year olds Joe Morgan, Zac Rasmussen and Brad Bourke as well as the nineteen year old Sam Muchalla who has committed to a four year scholarship to Northern Michigan set to begin in the fall of 2010.

No comments: